Synchrotron and Neutron Scattering in Biomaterials and Soft Matter – University of Copenhagen

Center for Synthetic Biology > News > Synchrotron and Neutro...

21 September 2016

Synchrotron and Neutron Scattering in Biomaterials and Soft Matter

Upcoming event:

12th Annual BRCB Workshop

The aim of the workshop is to gather a community of current and future users of neutron scattering within the cross-interdisciplinary areas of biology and soft matter. The idea is to show the mutual benefit when traditional methodologies from soft matter sciences are brought together and applied to biological systems. Besides basic science, we aim to demonstrate the capability of neutron and synchrotron scattering on biomedical and technological applications including:

  • Formulation of biologics
  • Drug design
  • Pharmaceuticals
  • Implants

This meeting further aims to gather experts across disciplines so as to strengthen and develop the expertise in scattering techniques within the Nordic community.

The workshop is aimed at both industry and academia. There will be four main sessions focusing on:

  • Biology
  • Interfaces
  • Solution
  • Industrial applications

Each session will end with a group discussion on what are the conditions required to increase and strengthen the user community of MAX IV and ESS.

The workshop is free of charge. 

Read more and sign up here ...>

ORGANIZING COMMITTEE: Marité Cárdenas, Malmö University Johan Engblom, Biofilms – Research Center for Biointerfaces, Malmö University Håvard Haugen, University of Oslo Reidar Lund, University of Oslo Kell Mortensen, Copenhagen University Tommy Nylander, Lund University

PLENARY SPEAKERS: Trevor Forsyth, Keele University and Institute Laue Langevin John Katsaras, Oak Ridge National Laboratory Thomas Callisen, Novozymes Robert Thomas, Oxford University

KEYNOTE SPEAKERS: Robert Schnell, Karolinska Intitutet Birger Lindberg Møller, University of Copenhagen Martin Bech, Lund University Peter Müller-Buschbaum, Technische Universität München Uri Raviv, Hebrew University of Jerusalem Ilja Voets, Eindhoven University of Technology Jan Skov Pedersen, Århus University Justas Barauskas, Camurus AB Anna Stenstam, CR Competence AB Sarah Rogers, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory Marjolein Thunnissen, MAX IV Laboratory Carmen Domene, King’s College London Fredrik Höök, Chalmers Technical University